they said i was a looker then

but when I look in the mirror I think my age has striped away the bullshit. left me free to admit I care too much give all I’ve got and get hurt just like the rest. looks to me like I’ve shouldered a lot and learned what I’m able to bear. even if I still take more than my load. my moma was a looker too. and it cost her all along. most days i’m willing to give it up. and some days i run laps hoping to find it.

when i’m clear enough. i remember that i am unabashedly Who I Am. And the best women I know let that message fall to the ground – like manna they didn’t need.

they’re lookers now

photo by jana busbin

~ by unabashedapparel on March 20, 2010.

One Response to “they said i was a looker then”

  1. that photo of you is positively stunning, my dear!

Leave a Reply

 
