Dirt

“Man -despite his artistic pretensions, his sophistication, and his many acomplishments – owes his existence to a six inch layer of topsoil and the fact that it rains.”

-Some very smart unknown 

 

I was sent this quote a couple of days ago and it really resonated with me. Brings it on home. Reminds me of my intentions and why I am doing what I’m doing – 

And so I am finally at a point in my life (the making a little dough point) to implement the fantastic 1% for the planet ideal. 

1% is a cooperative of many different folks in some kind of business that agree to give 1% of their gross profit back to approved organizations. As it’s tax season we are all being reminded how easy it is to “hide” money. This setup works wonderfully to me. It’s not – “I’d give money but after you count all the crap – I really didn’t make any” -it’s – Did someone pay you? Okay – Pay Back. I don’t have the funds to join in the big wig way – but that doesn’t mean I can’t adopt their model and start to cut checks to my local environmental charities, albeit – small checks currently. Big Smile. 

 

I love the word Tithe. It’s one of my favorite words. I love what it stands for. It doesn’t have to be about religion.  I love the idea that we are to take a moment – stop grumbling – and Give Back.  It helps me remember how fortunate I am.

~ by unabashedapparel on March 28, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
