even though it’s snowing…

In the sunrise my front yard looks like bits of glitter are floating in the air. Ah – snow. Always interesting – being an apparel designer. One of the foremost issues for me is getting inspired to design a season you can’t even imagine because the current one you’re in is so very at odds. So I’m actually a little behind the curve as these things go. My Spring/Summer collection should have been designed, dyed, sewn and on it’s way to lucky stores. The good news is that my fall/winter line is already designed and the dye is here – waiting for me to get my arse in gear. I think I am just so excited about the spring/summer line that I can’t bear to pull myself out of its reverie. Okay – I told you the names of the pieces yesterday. My best good friend Katydid always said that she wanted the job of getting to name crayons when she was a wee pup – actually – my best good friend Applewood did too – I’m noticing a pattern here with friendships for me – god I really think Jean the Queen has a color naming fetish as well… okay back to the point. So it’s no surprise how much I chew on color names. This line will have: Strawberry, Spring (as in green), Cobalt, Peach, and my most favorite: Grape Hyacinth. grapehyacinthIs there any prettier color and inspiration than that? My newly planted daffodils and grape hyacinths are peeking their pretty heads up out of the soil on my southern-most bank. Thank god for The Quickening… Spring is on the way!

~ by unabashedapparel on February 5, 2009.

3 Responses to “even though it’s snowing…”

  1. I love you!!! I absolutely fell in love with grape hyacinths just last week while looking at blueish flowers for the wedding in September… not that they will be in sustainable, local season in September – but it did inspire us to switch our plans of blue from iris to hyacinth!

  2. i would also be willing to name paint colors, eye shadows, lipsticks etc… you get the point… this is all lovely my the way. and i like the lacey bits on the cabbage shirt. i’ll be interested to see the hussy camisole. 😉 see i can name things. i love you. hoped the kale turned out right. xoxo

Leave a Reply

 
